MAC information updated.

Back in 2012 I got some of the most awful news that would impact in my breeding: a bitch that I exported to Australia was diagnosed with MAC.
That is a long old story of which you can read more in the following link if you have interest http://www.trufasnegras.com/trufas/09/history.htm – at the bottom of the page. 

At that time I had little to nothing of information about the issue, so I freaked out, cried and I immediately contacted the American Miniature Schnauzer Club. There I found support from members of the health committee, at that time Errolyn Martin and Patti Henderson, and I was also put in direct contact with Dr Giger. I’m very thankful to all of them who had given advice on how to proceed with my breeding; they always kept up the idea of not giving up, don’t put aside the affected lines, but be careful. I took up their advises and new discoveries. I informed my partner breeders around the world, all of whom had been actively breeding dogs who were very closely related to the recently discovered MAC case. I found support in ALL of them; we moved on together and alert keeping hold of those precious lines, carefully and attentively.

The only thing I could do back then to be proactive on the matter were informing and disclosing the issue, I was also able to provide some samples to Dr Giger.

Today, thanks to the efforts of TOO MANY PEOPLE GLOBALLY we have  DNA TEST AVAILABLE! I also want to thank every breeder/owner who have donated samples to Dr Giger, it wouldn’t have been possible without their help!! THANK YOU!!

During the last few months several dogs had been tested and I would like to share a list of tested dogs from my kennel, most of them related to the affected bitch, and also offsprings of dogs either bred or owned by me who showed MAC risk on their pedigrees.

Owners have decided to disclose the results whether they are carrier or clear, as we consider them as a TOOL on which we can now plan our breeding and get rid of MAC in very few generations.

 

mac
It is important to understand that CARRIER shouldn’t be removed from breeding but be bred to a CLEAR dog and then test their progeny, and so on. CARRIER to CLEAR will not produce an affected.
– Two Clears (CC x 2) will always produce clears.
– Two affecteds (mm x 2) will give 100% affected.
– Clear (CC) to an affected (mm) will give 100% carriers.
– Carrier (Cm) mated to a Clear (CC) cannot produce affecteds – 50% clear & 50% carriers.
– Carrier (Cm) mated to an affected (mm) – 50% affected & 50% carriers.
– Two Carriers (Cm x 2) will give CC Cm Cm mm – 25% clear, 50% carriers & 25% affected.

I find it important to share AMSC link to MAC, this is the most updated site where you can find the latest news on the matter, and Dr. Gigers comments about it. Please help share this information so we stop the misinformation that has been going on for a long time!

http://www.amsc.us/mac   – PLEASE VISIT, READ CAREFUL, SHARE!!!!

I find this link particularly interesting with Dr. Giger’s slide presentation at Montgomery 2016, , from page 6 you will find some simple and factual information.
http://www.amsc.us/uploads/MACGigerPres2016.pdf  

If you need to buy swabs for testing your dogs, you can get them here: http://www.ezswabs.com/cytology-brush.html

Link to PennGen laboratory in USA to test your miniature schnauzer
http://research.vet.upenn.edu/Default.aspx?alias=research.vet.upenn.edu/PennGen

I say good-bye quoting Charles Darwin “It is the long history of human-kind (and animal-kind too) those who learned to collaborate and improvise most effectively have prevailed” and I dedicate these words to all who took part on the efforts that made possible today’s most useful tool we have against MAC: DNA TEST!

Use it 😉 

Barbara
Trufas Negras Miniature Schnauzers

www.trufasnegras.com
www.trufasnegras.wordpress.com
www.applerainart.com 

*Feel free to share this post and the information contained in it*

 

 

Leave a comment